Configuring policies
Mesmer adheres to the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) standard in conducting its accessibility check. It currently uses version 2.1 of the said standard.
Mesmer also allows you to create "versions" or copies based on the WCAG 2.1 standard to implement your organization's accessibility policies. You can create one or several, depending on your organization's needs. Each version can be customized to support different sets of success criteria (rules) that cater to a specific need.
To configure accessibility policies, you can either click:
    the Compliance Configs menu item in the settings
    βš™
    menu; or
    the Policy Configs menu item in the Accessibility panel.
The two methods of configuring policies in Mesmer
Using either of the two methods above will lead you to the Compliance Standards screen to create and configure your organization's accessibility policy.

Managing versions

On the Compliance Standards screen, you'll notice that the only standard available is WCAG 2.1, and under it is a default version (also named Default) that is already created and enabled for your use. But this version's rules can't be edited, and you'll have to create new versions out of this one to start crafting your accessibility policies.
​
πŸ‘©πŸ«
Note: The Default version provided by Mesmer is the only version that can't be edited or deleted. But any duplicate you'll base on this version or new ones that you'll create can be modified and deleted.

Creating a new version

To create a new version out of the selected standard (currently, only WCAG 2 .1 is available):
    1.
    Click Create New Version.
    2.
    Provide the name and description of your version in their corresponding fields. Both fields are required.
    3.
    Click Create to confirm.
Once your version is created, it will be listed but disabled. You can enable or disable it using its toggle switch.
Creating a new version and enabling it for use
​
πŸ‘©πŸ«
Note: Only one version can be used at a time. Enabling another version will disable the current one.

Modifying an existing version

Modifying an existing version is to customize its rules or success criteria (based on the WCAG standard) so that it adheres to your organization's accessibility policies.
To view or customize a version's rules, click on it. This will open your version in a document-like format that lists all the rules from the accessibility standard that it's based on. From here, start customizing by toggling each rule you deem fit for your accessibility policies.
Click on a version to open it and customize its rules
Please see the Managing a version's rules section below for the complete discussion of how to customize and work with your version's rules.

Modifying version name and description

You can also quickly modify your version's existing name and description.
    1.
    Hover your mouse cursor on your version's existing name and description.
    2.
    Wait until a pencil icon appears and click on it to begin editing.
    3.
    Replace the values as you see fit and press Enter or Tab to save your new values.
Hovering your mouse cursor over a version's name and description

Duplicating an existing version

To create a duplicate of an existing version:
    1.
    Look for the version you want to duplicate and hover your mouse on its "copy" icon at the top-right corner.
    2.
    Click on the said icon to create a copy of that version.
Once the duplicate is created, it will have the same name as the original version's name, but with the word copy appended. On the other hand, it will have the exact description like that of the original version.
Create a duplicate of a version using the copy icon

Deleting an existing version

To delete an existing version:
    1.
    Look for the version you want to delete and hover your mouse on its trash can icon at the top-right corner.
    2.
    Click on the said icon and then click Yes to confirm the deletion.
Delete a version using the trash can icon

Managing a version's rules

Once you've created one or more versions out of your selected accessibility standard, you can now start customizing the rules in them. Click on the version to open it, and from there, scroll through the list looking for the rules you want to customize.
Each rule is presented with relevant information (based on the accessibility standard selected) and controls needed for you to customize it. To customize a rule, you can either do the following:
    Use its toggle switch to enable or disable it (turn on or off).
    Use its dropdown at the right to specify its severity.
    Modify the values of the Remediation, Best Practice, and More Info input fields so that their values appear in the violation report (in the Accessibility panel) and in the generated accessibility report.
Customizing a rule

Bulk updating

You can simultaneously update your version's rules using the associated checkbox that comes with each one of them. You can either enable or disable them or change their severity in one go. Here's how to do it:
    1.
    Click the checkbox that comes with each rule. You can select one or more.
    2.
    Specify whether to enable or disable the selected rules and set their severity using the controls provided at the bottom of the screen.
    3.
    Click done to confirm the update, or if you would like to cancel, press the Escape key.
Using the checkbox of each rule to do a bulk update
The Select All checkbox located at the top is also useful for quickly selecting all the rules.

Filtering & searching

You can filter rules based on their severity and conformance level using the Show dropdown, located at the right corner of the screen. You can combine any number of values from these two categories as your filter criteria. The default filter is set to All, meaning all rules are shown.
Next to the Show dropdown is a magnifying glass
πŸ”
icon that, when clicked, expands to a text field where you can search for rules. Any rule that matches or contains the text value you've entered will be displayed.
Filtering and searching for rules
​
πŸ’‘
Tip: If you need to update some of your rules, and at the same time, you know their names, you're much better off searching for them than scrolling and looking for them one by one in the list.
Last modified 9mo ago